Friday, September 18, 2009

All-American Soapbox Derby Makes Summer 2009 One to Remember

The 72nd All American Soapbox Derby welcomed over 500 families from 43 states and 3 foreign countries to Akron, Ohio. Race week hosted numerous events from July 20-26, 2009, including museum displays, a historic derby car display, a dance, a variety of dinners and clinics, and not to mention, the racing!

Soapbox Derby racing consists of gravity-powered cars racing downhill and travel at speeds up to 35 miles per hour. A technologically advanced photography system is used to judge the winner of the race.

Derby Downs is the legendary soapbox derby 954 foot race track on Akron Hill. It was built in the late 1930s. The “Downs” starts near the top of George Washington Boulevard and descends in a straight line down the hill ending near runway 25 of Akron Fulton International Airport.

Drivers are aged 8 through 17 and must ensure that their gravity powered vehicles meet the specifications listed in the 22 page International Soapbox Derby Rule Book, available for download on their website.

First place finishers are listed below.

Masters First Place: Megan ThorntonSuper Stock First Place: Maija LiimatainenStock First Place: Sarah WhitakerRally Master First Place: Megan Hydutsky Rally Super Stock First Place: Alex Seither Rally Stock First Place: Tyler Fleck

The Ultimate Speed Award went to Team Kevin Frank, driven by Jamie Berndt.

Prizes include scholarships and soapbox derby merchandise.

No comments:

Post a Comment